Do You Want to Become a Behavior Analyst?

Since I have started this blog, I’ve gotten numerous email and phone inquiries regarding career advisement in the field of Applied Behavior Analysis.

Though I must point out, as I always say, each person is unique, so is also a personal career choice.

People have many career questions about ABA such as;

- how much work is involved in becoming a Behavior Analyst?
- should I become a Board Certified Behavior Analyst?
- what ABA graduate programs should I apply to?
- what job options would I have?
- what can I do with my current work background?
- could I set up my own business or should I work for an organization/agency?

- do I have to only work with the Autism population to become a BCBA?
- how can I get work experience with the required BCBA supervision?
etc etc…

I will provide some basics here:

With a BCBA certification you could do a lot of good work and help people. Our field is in need of very good, competent Behavior Analysts. Though there is an ongoing debate now with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board as to go the licensure route or continue the certification model.  In my professional opinion, I still think the BCBA is the right thing to do if you utilize Applied Behavior Analysis in your working career.

By becoming a Board Certified Behavior Analyst, it will make you more credible, you will belong to an expanding intellectual group, it will make you more marketable and if you wish you can try to make your own positive impact upon our field.
 
As for the ABA graduate courses, they are a lot of work, so be prepared and structure lots of time to complete them. And yes, you have to study in order to pass the Board’s exam. 
 
So come on over to the BCBA side.
 
I will occassionally keep addressing various issues of ABA, including some basic questions about our field here at my blog, so check back for future blog entries. However, for the more specific questions for individuals needing career counseling in Applied Behavior Analysis, I will have to charge for my time.

Those interested in gaining more specific knowledge about ABA and becoming a Board Certified Behavior Analyst may email an inquiry at bxconsult@aol.com with the subject line ‘career’ to set up an appointment for a 15 minute or 30 minute career advisement session via phone. An informational email will then be sent regarding how to set up an appointment and fees.

Appointments can be set up quickly with credit card payment options through Paypal.

For free information about becoming a Behavior Analyst  please visit and review this site – www.bacb.com

Thank you.

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Do You Want to Become a Behavior Analyst?”

  1. Cassandra Jones Says:

    I am interested in schools that offer Behavior Analyst Degree in south. I live in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. I have a BS in Occupational therapy.

  2. Bernadel Jacques Says:

    I have a Bachelor degree in Business Administration from Florida International University in 2001, and I would like to become a Behavior Analyst.

  3. Rico Says:

    So is the same as bau on criminal minds the television show it so interest me how they come to a determination about a persons characteristics I am a psych major and it just compells me. Sre the same principles applied to these major studies of courses or r they so very different in comparison ??????

  4. natasha Says:

    Hi, is there anywhere in the UK I can study to be a ABA?

  5. Toshona Says:

    Hello, I am a masters of Social Work graduate currently studying for my LSW. I would also like to take the BACB after. Is there other material to study besides what I studied in Social Work? If so, can you point me in the direction so that I can study for that exam as well. Thank you

    • thebehavioranalyst Says:

      You will have to complete taking 15 credits of Applied Behavior Analysis through an approved graduate school by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board. It will go up to 18 ABA graduate level credits by 2014.

      For approved graduate programs across the country please visit http://www.bacb.com

      Thanks!

  6. Samuel Hewitt Says:

    I would absolutely love to become a Behavior Analyst. But I like in Devon, UK…

  7. Emily Says:

    I am a senior in high school, my main goal in life is to pursue a career in the FBI profiling people. I am a very driven individual and I will achieve this goal, though I do not know where to begin. As of right now I am leaning towards getting my major in psychology and a minor in criminology. Is this the right path? Any information or personally informed opinions you can give me would be so incredibly appreciated. Please email me.

    Thankyou,
    Emily.

  8. Become a certified coach Says:

    Nice post. I like the way you start and then conclude your thoughts. Thanks for this information . Keep up the good work

  9. Lila Baboomian Says:

    I have a B.S. in business administration and have recently (2 years) been working with autistic preschoolers and have a strong interest in pursuing certification as an ABA facillitator. Not sure where to start but would like a degree in the field so that I can work in the school district. Any suggestions?

  10. Therapist Phone Says:

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your
    rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your
    great post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  11. Debbie Says:

    Hi there,
    My daughter is a senior in high school and is very interested in criminal behavior as well as possibly working with autistic children. I am a teacher and she has met with the behavior analyst at my school and has become interested in this path. Can you give me some suggestions on what she should major in for her Bachelor’s degree? Also, what is the next step after she has her Bachelor’s degree? Thanks so much!
    Debbie
    Orlando, FL

  12. Ana T. Says:

    Hi, I am considering becoming a BCBA. However most of the jobs that I find are in the home setting wit autistic children. I am concerned about the schedule that I would have due to the fact that the hours are up to 8pm. This seems like it would create burn out and little time will be left for family. What jobs can I do with a BCBA that are more of a 9-5pm type of schedule.
    Thank you,
    Ana

  13. thebehavioranalyst Says:

    There is a need for what your wife does. Her grad degree must be within what the bacb approves now. If you are confused by their web site at http://www.bacb.com then give them a direct call. They will be happy to assist you.

    Thanks,
    Beth

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

