Change Your Child’s Problem Behavior in Minutes?

I was watching tv today and lo and behold, I saw a commercial advertising  – How to transform your child’s problematic behaviors in minutes!!!

 

As a Behavior Analyst, I thought, hhhmmmm too good to be true to change problematic behaviors in minutes. Perhaps one simplistic instance of a behavior could be changed, but a whole set of problematic behaviors to be changed in minutes???  I take issue with that.

 

So I evaluated their sensationalized website that claimed such incredible, miraculous results! The whole DVD Behavior training program will just only cost you $300 and POOF your child will behave again!  They even guarantee it!

 

Parents, please be leary of such commercial hype. Anybody who claims to change your child’s problematic behaviors in minutes should cause you concern. Behavior takes time to observe, assess, develop an intervention, implement intervention/technique, measure its outcomes, adjust if needed,  monitor and continue maintenance.

 

Lets pick out a behavior, one that could be problematic. Perhaps we are overweight.

 

Is there a pill or an exercise that will make us thin in minutes ??????

 POOF!!!!  It is MAGIC !

 

NO!

 

 

Changing behavior is serious business. It takes much work and time.

 

Hire a Behavior Analyst, who is a Behavior Expert.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Change Your Child’s Problem Behavior in Minutes?”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    Hi,my name is Sylvia and I have been working in the special ed. with varied ability students for the past 12 year. I have worked with children with severe behavior needs and I simply laughed when I viewed a commercial guaranteeing to transform your child problematic behavior in minutes. I have recently attended three day of ABLLS-R training and understand professionally and personally what it takes to enable a child to learn new behavior and communication skills that will transform their lives. Sylvia Educator for life

Leave a comment